Checking a license number is a very important vetting tool for most home improvement projects but it isn’t necessary in all states. A lot of good quality handyman opt not to become licensed because it limits what work they can take on. Read more about The Benefits of Hiring a Licensed Contractor.zfbzcuyqsybrvyararsyawfcfawwursr

 

Remember:

  • If a contracting license is not required by the state, this does not mean that it is not required in your city.
  • This article is based on general contracting licenses only. More specialty licenses (such as plumbing and electrical), may have different laws. Here’s some useful information on What a General Contractor Can and Can’t Do.
  • Just because a professional is licensed, it does not necessarily mean that they do quality work. Always ask for references as well as license information. Read more tips for How To Hire The Best Contractor.

 

Do you need quotes from contractors in your area?

Request a General Contractor

 

 

Alabama

General contractors working on projects that exceed $10,000 require a Home-Builders license in Alabama.

To become licensed they must:

  • Have experience and provide references
  • Pass an exam

Check a license number HERE!

 



Alaska

General contractors must have Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing in Alaska.

To become licensed they must:

  • Be bonded
  • Have liability and compensation insurance

Check a license number HERE.



Arizona

General contractors must be licensed to complete projects costing more than $1,000 in Arizona

To become licensed they must:

  • Pass an exam
  • Be bonded
  • Have business and compensation insurance

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Arkansas

All contractors must be licensed by the Residential Contractors Committee to complete projects costing more than $2,000 in Arkansas

To become licensed they must:

  • Pass an exam
  • Have workers compensation insurance

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

California

All contractors must be licensed to complete any work exceeding $500 in California

To become licensed they must:

  • Prove that they are skilled
  • Pass an exam
  • Be bonded
  • Have workers compensation and liability insurance

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Colorado

General contractors are not required to be licensed at the state level in Colorado. Your local area may have different requirements.

 

 

Connecticut

All home improvement professionals will have to be licensed in Connecticut.

To become licensed they must:

  • Pass an exam
  • Have insurance
  • Provide references

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Delaware

All contractors must have a business license in Delaware. 

To become licensed they must:

  • Have liability and workers comp insurance
  • Be bonded

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Florida

In order to work throughout the entire state of Florida, a general contractor must have a “registered” contracting license. 

To become licensed they must:

  • Pass an exam
  • Have liability and workers compensation insurance
  • Have experience or a qualification in the field

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Georgia

General contractors will require a license if the project costs more than $2,500 in Georgia

To become licensed they must:

  • Have workers compensation insurance
  • Pass an exam

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Hawaii

General contractors in Hawaii require a license.

To become licensed they must:

  • Have liability (property and bodily injury) insurance
  • Have workers compensation insurance
  • Pass an exam

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Idaho

General contractors must register their business with the state of Idaho but do not require a contracting license. This may differ locally. 

To obtain a business license they must:

  • Have liability and workers compensation insurance

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Illinois

Roofers must be licensed statewide throughout Illinois. However, general contractors must be licensed locally so the requirements may differ.

In Aurora, to obtain a license they must:

  • Have liability and workers compensation insurance
  • Be bonded
  • Have a registered business name

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Indiana

General contractors do not need to be licensed by the state in Indiana. This may vary on a local level.

 

 

Iowa

General contractors must be registered if they earn more than $2,000 per year from home improvement projects in Iowa

To become registered, they must:

  • Have workers compensation insurance
  • Be bonded (if the business is registered out of state)

Check if a contractor is registered HERE.

 

 

Kansas

General contractors do not need to be licensed by the state of Kansas. This may vary on a local level.

In Johnson County, a licensed contractor must:

  • Have liability and workers comp insurance

 

Kentucky

General contractors do not need to be licensed by the state of Kentucky. This may vary on a local level.

In Louisville, a licensed contractor must:

  • Have liability and workers comp insurance
  • Be bonded

 

 

Louisiana

General contractors require a license in Louisiana if the work will cost more than $7,500 and less than $75,000. If the project costs exceeds $75,000 a building license is required.

To become licensed, they must:

  • Have workers compensation insurance
  • Pass an exam

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Maine

General contractors are not required to be licensed in Maine. 

 

 

Maryland

All home improvement contractors will require a license in Maryland.

To become licensed, they must:

  • Be financially stable or hold a $20,000 bond
  • Pass an exam

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Massachusetts

At least one professional on a project will need a supervisor’s license in Massachusetts. 

To become licensed, they must:

  • Have 3 years of experience in the field or pass an exam

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Michigan

All contractors are required to hold a residential builders license in Michigan.

To become licensed, they must:

  • Complete a 60 hour educational course

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Minnesota

All contractors that receive more than $15,000 a year in payment from home improvement projects must have a residential building license.

To become licensed, they must:

  • Complete a 60 hour educational course
  • Have liability and workers comp insurance
  • Pass a background check

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Mississippi

All contractors will need to be certified in Mississippi. If a contractor is completing a remodel projected to cost more than $10,000, they will need a Residential Remodeling license.

To become licensed they must:

  • Have general liability insurance
  • Pass an exam

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Missouri

General contractors do not need to be licensed by the state of Missouri. This may vary on a local level. 

 

 

Montana

All general contractors must be registered with the state of Montana. 

In order to be registered, they must:

  • Have liability insurance

Check if a contractor is registered HERE.

 

 

Nebraska

All contractors must register with the Department of Labor in Nebraska, unless they earn less than $5,000 annually.

To become registered, they must:

  • Have workers compensation insurance (if they have employees)

Check if they’re registered HERE.

 

 

Nevada

All contractors must be licensed for projects projected to cost more than $1,000 in Nevada

To become registered, they must:

  • Have workers compensation insurance
  • Hold a license bond

Check if they’re registered HERE.

 

 

New Hampshire

General contractors do not require a license in New Hampshire. 

 

 

New Jersey

Any home repair professional must have a license in New Jersey, unless they deal strictly with cash or credit card payments. 

To become licensed, they must:

  • Have workers compensation and liability insurance

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

New Mexico

All contractors require a license in New Mexico.

To become licensed, they must:

  • Pass an exam
  • Have experience in the field

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

New York

General contractors do not need to be licensed by the state of New York. This may vary on a local level.

In New York City, to become licensed they must:

  • Pass a background check
  • Have liability and workers compensation insurance
  • Prove that the company is financially stable

 

 

North Carolina

General contractors must be licensed with the state of North Carolina if the project is projected to cost more than $30,000. 

To become licensed, they must:

  • Pass an exam

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

North Dakota

General contractors in North Dakota must be licensed if the price of the project exceeds $4,000. 

To become licensed, they must:

  • Have a registered business
  • Have workers compensation and liability insurance

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Ohio

General contractors do not need to be licensed by the state in Ohio. This may vary on a local level.

In Columbus, to become licensed they must:

  • Have 3 years experience in the field (1 year for Limited Contractors)
  • Be bonded

 

 

Oklahoma

General contractors do not need to be licensed by the state in Oklahoma. This may vary on a local level. 

 

 

Oregon

All contractors require a license in Oregon, unless the total cost of the project is less than $1,000.

To become licensed, they must:

  • Be bonded
  • Have workers compensation and liability insurance
  • Have a registered business
  • Pass an exam

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Pennsylvania

All contractors must be registered for projects projected to cost more than $500 in Pennsylvania. 

To become registered, they must:

  • Have liability insurance

Check if a pro is registered HERE.

 

 

Rhode Island

Contractors must be licensed if the cost of the project exceeds $500 in Rhode Island.

To become licensed, they must:

  • Have workers compensation and liability insurance

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

South Carolina

All contractors will require a license in South Carolina

To become licensed, they must:

  • Have 2 years experience
  • Be bonded

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

South Dakota

General contractors do not need to be licensed by the state in South Dakota. This may vary on a local level.

In Sioux Falls, to become licensed they must:

  • Pass an exam
  • Be bonded
  • Have general liability insurance

 

 

Tennessee

General contractors are required to be licensed if the project is projected to cost more than $25,000 in Tennessee

To become licensed they must:

  • Pass an exam
  • Prove that they’re financially stable
  • Have liability and workers compensation insurance

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Texas

General contractors do not need to be licensed at a state level in Texas.

 

 

Utah

All contractors must be licensed with the state of Utah

To become licensed they must:

  • Pass an exam

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Vermont

General contractors do not need to be licensed by the state in Vermont. This may vary on a local level.

 

 

Virginia

General contractors must be licensed to complete any project costing more than $1,000 in Virginia. For work projected to cost less than $10,000, a class C license is required. Whereas, a project costing between $10,000 and $120,000, will require a class B license. 

To become licensed they must:

  • Have a registered business name

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Washington

All general contractors must be licensed with the state in Washington.

To become licensed, they must:

  • Have a registered business
  • Be bonded
  • Have liability and workers compensation insurance

Check license number HERE.

 

 

West Virginia

General contractors must be licensed in West Virginia if the work is projected to cost more than $2,500. 

To become licensed they must:

  • Pass an exam
  • Have workers compensation insurance

Check a license number HERE.

 

 

Wisconsin

General contractors require a Dwelling Contractor certification to pull permits but not necessarily to complete construction work in Wisconsin

To obtain a Dwelling Contractor certification they must:

  • Be bonded
  • Have workers compensation and liability insurance

Check a license or certification HERE.

 

 

Wyoming

General contractors do not need to be licensed by the state in Wyoming. This may vary on a local level.

In Cheyenne, to become licensed they must:

  • Have references
  • Have liability and workers comp insurance

 

Need to get quotes from general contractors for your project?

Request Quotes Today